JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

The scarecrows are back

Towards the end of the day I went for a quick walk round the village, and discovered scarecrows beside the road into the village and outside a house. I'm sure there are, or will soon be, many more, gathering for the annual display and competition; they are always fun to tour and photograph. I also played with aperture and depth of field experiments, mainly involving leaves and cow parsley, prompted by the current Camera Club project. This was fun, and I quite like some of the results, but they will need sorting, editing and thinking about before I share any, and I always struggle to find time for that part of the process, much as I enjoy going out with my camera.

I returned home to the news that the general election has been called for 4th July. Change can't come soon enough, though the current state of our economy, infrastructure, public services and key institutions will make the much needed improvements slow, difficult to achieve and even more difficult to fund. 

Earlier, I continued my sorting and clearing out project, which was always going to be a long term one. I've been going through sewing related things, classifying and storing bits and pieces more tidily and starting a list of fabric destined for projects... at which point I slipped into browsing dungaree patterns for J, and the process again paused. M works a short day with J on Wednesdays, so I went to help her finish her lunch, and she agreed, to my surprise, that we could catch up with Sewing Bee. It was the first episode of the new series, I always enjoy seeing what the participants make, both from patterns and in the improvised recycling tasks, and it always makes me long to find time for sewing. I hope, now that my workspace is more organised than at any time since we moved here, that perhaps I really will get beyond mending and use some of my large fabric stash for a few new things to wear. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.