Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Scutum Fidei

A return to Bromfield and a chance to see inside St Mary the Virgin's Church. It is quite unusual to find a painted chancel ceiling in an English church, yet here it is. Created in 1672 by Thomas Francis it depicts the Shield of Trinity (Scutum Fidei) amidst parting clouds, angels and scrolls bearing biblical texts. It was difficult to get a good vantage point to capture the whole scene. I tried lying on my back, fearful that someone would walk in and find me prostrate before the altar like some medieval pilgrim. In the end I think this was the better viewpoint. Thomas Francis appears to be a bit of a mystery. I've never heard of him and haven't yet found any other works he painted. The church also has a rather good Charles Kempe stained glass window but I'll save that for another visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.