Marsupium Photography

By magi

airborne

I must admit it was somewhat of a struggle getting  up. I did manage to get some stuff sorted albeit slowly. I was very pleased to figure out the mystery of why the network throughput of a single process on some machines was very much slower than on others. Modern CPU have quite a few cores (our compute systems have 2 CPUs with 96 cores each). They also support a technology called hyperthreading where a single core can process two concurrent threads. This works well for some workloads although I have never been quite convinced by that on HPC loads. Anyway, looks like hyperthreading also doesn't play nice with 100GbE. I have to experiment some more but I suspect we will have to switch off hyperthreading. Something to play with tomorrow.

We got some very pretty clouds today and the view from the office was rather fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.