The Way I See Things

By JDO

Beautifuller

A couple of weeks ago I posted my first Beautiful Demoiselle of the season, from the feeder stream in the Heart of England Forest at Barton. Today I went back and saw several mature specimens of both sexes, though only the females were prepared to sit for me. This one was so calm that having photographed her from the top of the bank with the long lens, I was able to step carefully down and squat just above her with the macro. The only protest involved in this manoeuvre came from my aged knees; the demoiselle remained phlegmatic throughout, and didn't even flinch at the unbecoming language I used when it was time for me to stand up again.

If you look at the image full-screen you may be able to make out the little protuberances behind the eyes which are diagnostic of this species, and in some cases are the only way you can reliably distinguish female Beautiful and Banded Demoiselles. Generally speaking, female Banded Demoiselles have wings that look greener than this, but that can be quite dependent on the light. Their false wing spot is also closer to the end of the wing than this, but that's a tricky feature to use in isolation, especially as some female demoiselles don't have a wing spot at all. So I was grateful to the County Recorder when told me about the Beautiful Demoiselle's head prongles, and since then I always try to capture a shot that shows them.

Up till my encounter with the demoiselle, I'd expected to be featuring the White-legged Damselfly in tonight's second image. This is one of my favourite damselfly species, and having been specifically searching for them at Barton today, I was very pleased to find my first specimen of the season in the thick vegetation alongside the River Avon.

R: C1 D9.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.