ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Before You Accuse Me

Due to a series of long days and late nights, my blips are going to be a bit out of kilter for the next few days. This is Friday’s blip (which I’m actually writing just after midnight so, technically Saturday morning) using a picture taken late on Thursday night! Don’t worry, it’ll all make sense by the end of the weekend.
Our second Eric Clapton concert this month, this time at the Royal Albert Hall. We last saw him there in 2011, and we sat in the Choir seats then, so I’ve only ever seen the back of Eric when he’s played there! The setlist was similar to what we’d heard at Liverpool ten days ago, but the encores were a bit special. Not only did Andy Fairweather-Low join the band on stage (he was the support act so wouldn’t normally be playing with the main act) but we had a surprise special guest - Dhani Harrison! He joined the band for one of his dad’s songs - “Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth)” - and stayed on for the rousing Bo Diddley classic that closed the show.
It might seem extravagant seeing the same artist twice in ten days, but I genuinely feel this could be Eric’s final tour and did not want to pass up on the opportunity to see him at the RAH one last time. I actually thought he played - and looked - better than when we saw him in Liverpool. Seeing the son of his much missed best friend join him on stage was just the icing on the cake as far as I was concerned.
I first saw Eric in 1990 and thought he was one of the best guitarists I’ve seen. Thirty four years later and I see no reason to change that opinion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.