One of Three Beards

Spent the day at a small music festival near Diss - the WoW festival - just under an hour from home by car. I go in free as I was with a chum from We Are Norwich and we had a stall there where we had information about WAN and were selling our lovely new badges.

The weather was glorious, the capacity of the festival just 500 and you could hear all the (excellent local) bands clearly as the stalls, food and drink marquees and stage were all in the same field. Walking from stall to stage took about two minutes.

My favourite band of the day was Three Beards - an eight piece who play a mix of instruments including double bass, mandolin, banjo, guitar, marching drum, accordian, broom and saw 'with the beauty and madness of a bat stuck in a big head of hair'.

This member of the band has a bunny rabbit head made of papier mache in his hand. He wore this as the band processed to the stage to begin their performance. The only time I've seen anyone walking in a procession wearing a rabbit head before was in the film, The Wicker Man.

They were brilliant. I'd love to see them again but this was their last ever gig.

In a couple of hours time I'm playing uke with the ukulele society at a street fair. I will not be wearing a false head of any kind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.