Desperately seeking

By clickychick

X Is For Xanthoria

....and just in case my lichen expert says "not all yellow lichens are xanthoria..." I've also blipped my x-ray test books, well, the Kitty Clarks.

These two volumes, one for the skeleton and one for internal organs, were the definitive way we had to position patients for x-ray procedures. No turning the head to get Rembrandt lighting or catchlights in the eyes. I think that's why I enjoyed moving from radiography to photography, I could do what I wanted!

They were invaluable though. We kept copies in the dark room and if a patient presented with  came with a request for an unusual view for x-ray, we would look it up while they were getting undressed.

The books came from Donald Ferrier of Teviot Place in Edinburgh, bought in 1976. I don't suppose I'll ever part with them.

As for the lichen, it was one of many growing on a wall in the village. It's a lichenised fungus which can be identified by their characteristic squamulose morphology. OK, I'll leave it at that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.