Kolachi Karachi

By Marylou

One man's trash...

I went to the Sunday flea market after church this morning; the weather was cloudy and windy with a bit of a drizzle. Around here that is lovely weather. So yes, a good day for being outside.

The Sunday flea market is a massive open air market around 30 minutes drive from the centre of the city. It is called Itwaar Bazaar (Itwaar is Sunday in Urdu). You can find everything from designer clothing, shoes and purses to pots and pans, furniture, baskets, books and DVDs there.

I went for the books and found these two treasures. In case I haven't mentioned it before, I am a 'Janeite' i.e. a Jane Austen fan. The P.D. James book is a sequel to Austen's Pride and Prejudice and I have been looking for it for almost a year now but it wasn't available in any of the big bookstores. When I saw it lying on the shelf at the flea market this morning I think I almost let out a small whoop of joy and then grabbed and held on to it for dear life! My mum found the other book and what a good find it was. I also bought C.S. Lewis' Narnia series. I love the Narnia books and I am looking forward to re-reading them. All in all a very profitable morning of book buying.

As I was looking through the various book stalls I found a LOT of Christian books and several books on Judaism including a copy of the Torah! None of the bookstores here (big or small) carry Christian books and a Torah would be totally out of the question! Sometimes Karachi can surprise me too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.