Possibly the best

By Letters

Turnip Townsend

I am keeping the cats in today since its silage cutting time.
They have both been very good about this despite a temporary ban from the quite beautiful country cottage garden at the new place, which of course they love to lie about in.
I wonder if that roast chicken I brought back from today's Tesco trip may be on their minds.
Mind you, while we all bask in the summer sunshine, its time for the folk who grow our food to harvest the next winters fodder and hard work it must be indeed!
Today I heard part of a radio 4 programme which mentioned the agricultural revolution during the 1700's which enabled farm folk in the UK to over winter animals rather than slaughter and salt the majority of them. I had quite forgotton about this. This was not to do with silage of course but the humble turnip.
I did remember something about Turnip Townsend though it may not have been the man's real name.
In fact, I seem to recall that his first name was Charles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.