Do NOT buy a Sigma 150-500mm lens!

This is one of the buzzards that fledged in April / May, one of a lot of pics I took today with the new Sigma 150-500mm.

The lens will be returned to Sigma on Monday!

This is about the only JUST useable shot that I took today - but it wasn't for lack of opportunities.

This is also the 4th 150-500mm lens that I have had from Sigma - each one has had a problem and each one has gone back to be repaired.

This particular one will not focus and when it is fixed, even on a still subject, the lens just jars and judders in and out of focus.

I had a good shot of Chris Froome yesterday in the Tour de France - this was a total fluke as out of 420 shots, there were 7 that were in focus!

If anyone is listening from Sigma, maybe they think that this is a good percentage ... I personally do not.

The first 150-500mm lens I had was good .... for 3 months, until the focus motor broke - Sigma fixed it and then it got wet - Sigma refused to fix it.

During the first repair, the FNAC shop in Toulouse lent me theirs so I could continue to blip, which was very kind of them - this lens was a very hit-and-miss affair.

So after shelling out again for a Sigma lens - it has to go back and I will be without it for at least 10 days!

Now this could just be very bad luck, a bunch of Friday-afternoon lenses ...

So, with my very limited experience, I recommend that you steer very clear of this lens ...

I'll keep you up to speed with the repairs and the advancement with Sigma ....

Yours .... not very impressed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.