That'll do...

By LizMBpics

Crick Memorial

This memorial was unveiled back in April and I've wanted to get a decent shot of the Crick memorial ever since. It's in Gonville and Caius college and visible from the street through an ornate 'Great Gate'. (Hence the busy shadows in the bottom left hand corner).

However, poking my lens through the bars wasn't very productive and I had to wait until such time as the college was open and I had my camera with me...

There's a fair amount of symbolism worked into it (see http://www.cai.cam.ac.uk/news/memorial-francis-crick for more details) but the obvious points are the RNA structure, including 'GCC' in the bases, thus symbolising the college. Out of shot there are also some snakes heads, recalling the staff of Asclepius.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.