Changing the world/the world changing

Last night's journey up the M6 was for the biennial Manchester International Festival. Two years ago I spent several days in Manchester for the festival and saw an inspiring and memorable variety of music, theatre and street art.

Starting the course last week blitzed my plan to be in Manchester for four days this time but I'd already bought tickets for the family to go to the Massive Attack gig and I wasn't prepared to miss it. So despite arriving in Bolton last night and itching to be outside I spent the hottest day of the year indoors struggling with my college assignment with the sound of thwacks, cheers and gasps in the background. The family hauled me away from my screen to watch just the last game of the Wimbledon final. I'd like to have seen it all but hey...

SPOILER ALERT
The gig in an old depot by Piccadilly station was like nothing I've ever seen - a video on three sides of the audience of carefully selected less-well-known news items since the 1970s whose commentary about shifting attitudes to changing the world, risk and fear was accompanied by Massive Attack. Interesting, thought-provoking, challenging.

Our long walk out of the depot was accompanied by theatre smoke, bright lights and a huge alsation barking. A great finale. Then the three-hour drive back to Oxford ready for college/work.
/SPOILER ALERT



chaiselongue
Late in my day in front of the computer I turned to blipfoto and read the shocking and desperately sad news of chaiselongue's death on Saturday. So hard to take in. She has been a lively, thoughtful and generous commenter on my blips since my early days here and I will miss her and her impeccable eye for colour and shadow. My heart goes out to her family, so suddenly bereaved of someone so creative, thoughtful and full of life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.