0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

As I was leaving the station this morning I spotted Arpit outside, looking a bit lost.

Had it been a few months ago, before I started on this strangers journey, I probably wouldn't have stopped and chatted to him but the project has changed me and instead I went up to him and asked him if he was OK.

Arpit was indeed lost, he was looking for a hotel which was at the far end of town, we were in the centre, so I decided to walk him half-way.

As we were walking, chatting away, I noticed he kept on looking at pieces of paper in his hand, on which were scribbled notes of some kind. I had to ask him what they were.

"It's a play," he replied
"Oh! Did you write it?"
"No, I know the people who did. They're putting a production on and I'm learning the lines from it"
"Do you have it learn it by a specific date?"
"Yeah, now, I'm going to the audition as we speak"
"At the hotel? Wow, good luck!"
"Thanks - it's a passion of mine, like photography is yours I presume..."

So while I didn't have intentions of getting a portrait at the time, I felt because of the encounter with Arpit I should try and remember it.

I asked Arpit to let me know if he got the part, I hope he did. He did look a little stressed, can you see that from the portrait? Being lost and late doesn't help one's nerves, especially in these situations!


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.