globaltraveller

By globaltraveller

Edinburgh Castle

I took a little lunchtime walk today in amongst the throngs of tourists and office workers enjoying the sunshine. My route initially took me from West Maitland Street towards the Waldorf Caledonia, across the street and down Kings Stables Road to the Grassmarket. It was at the Grassmarket I stopped to take this blip. This is my favourite view of Edinburgh Castle, which best shows it in its towering glory.

I continued towards Victoria Street crossing the Royal Mile heading down the Mound and retracing my steps back to the Haymarket after passing through West Princes Street Gardens.

I often do this walk, in all seasons. The leafy foliage of West Princes Street Gardens is always a great site. The only 'scar' in this peaceful haven is the Ross Bandstand. It surely wouldn't take much imagination (or indeed money) to make more of this than is currently the case?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.