Pleach

By Pleach

Burnet moth

I hadn't intended submitting this as I already had another blip but when I got home from my walk along the lane opposite, I thought the photo wasn't too bad considering that the moth kept moving around the thistle. It had the most beautiful shimmery black wings with several red spots but I'm not sure if it's a 5 Spotted or 6 Spotted Burnet moth and the strong colours warn birds that it is unpalatable. It is one of the few moths that fly in the day time. The hot sunny weather after the morning's haar (North Sea Mist) had brought out several butterflies but none settled long enough to photo.

Best seen in large.

(later .... according to a wildlife expert this does appear to be a 5 spot which is relatively rare in Scotland)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.