Got it!!

The second Tuesday of the month is always the first day of the two day meetings I attend in Wellington each month. During most of my adult life I have paid little attention to the annual accumulation of another number; I have left that very comfortably to my family to respond to as they choose/chose. This year I thought maybe I'd miss the meeting today because of the date; however, we had family with us on Saturday instead, and S is hosting her poetry study group tonight. So I came to Wellington as I was meant to.

An early flight this morning, as always. In winter this mean that the flight leaves Auckland just before sunrise. My run was, therefore, taken this afternoon (post meeting) in Wellington. I went searching for some street art, or public art.

In a small grassed nook just off the waterfront is this sculpture, described on the plaque as "The Rugby World Cup Celebration Sculpture". It is not dated, and I am assuming it was produced in recognition of New Zealand's All Blacks winning the World Cup in 2011.

It appears to have been produced through a collaboration of the Wellington City Council and Weta Workshop. The words which go with the sculpture read:

Two mighty forces in pursuit of the golden prize. The earth quakes, and our mighty greywacke erupts from the fragile earth. The waves crash through the Cook Strait from the South Pacific to the Tasman Sea. Wellington; an energised city, dynamically caught between the sea and the sky - kept fresh by the ever present wind.

The shape of the sculpture emphasises evolution out of the water to reach to the sky (albeit to catch a rugby ball!)

A quiet evening with fellow Council members during which tsuken and his two smalls rang and spoke with me. Posting this on return to my hotel room, before getting ready for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.