Broken .....

..... Bone.

It appears that what I thought was a sprained finger after yesterday's tumble on the bike was a little more.

When I woke up this morning my hand was quite swollen so I popped along to see my GP who sent me for X-rays in the little hospital next door. At first they thought it was just bad bruising but when it was sent through for a radiographer at the local larger hospital to check ( all this took seconds on the NHS internal system ) he asked for another couple of X-rays to be done which showed the fracture at the base of my fith metacarpal bone.

On the left hand ( no pun intended ) X-ray there is a little arrow pointing to the general area of the fracture, the fracture is easier to see on the right image. Luckily the fracture is to my left hand ( I'm right handed ). I have to keep my hand elevated for a few days and will have to have a couple of fingers strapped together for the next month or so.

In other news my new laptop arrived today and I've been invited out to a BBQ this evening. I've not had much of a chance to look at blip today so will take this opportunity to thank you all for the lovely response to yesterday's blip. Yesterday's ride was on the rib breaker route, I've a feeling the detour I took may end up being called the hand breaker. As I've spent most of today in hospital, today's blip is a .....


.... Broken bone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.