Yanzi

By Yanzi

Home Sweet Home

The drive back was a bitch, but a nice bitch.

Late night driving with roadtrip-frayed tempers and playlists of songs you've heard a thousand and one times was the bitch part.
The nice part was that our seemingly random detour for gas turned into a search for [one of many] Morgan's childhood homes.

She had lived in Northfield, MN when she was younger, but couldn't remember the address. But she did remember that it was by the City Hall. We circled the area a couple times with no luck. With sleepiness weighing down our eyelids, we decided it was best to continue our way home. Stop this Train and Congratulations was put on repeat for the next half hour to make us emotional about it.

At 2:00 AM, our trusty blue Dodge minivan named Willy rolled into the driveway at my house. My beautiful mother greeted Morgan, Dennis, and me with steaming hot bowls of Chinese noodles and braised beef.

Having not showered for a week, I take my bun out to find that my locks had become a singular monster dread. I think it moved and told me, "Welcome home, Katy".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.