... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM Wildlife Garden: Hoverfly In Flight

Still crisp in large ("L"), but the wings are still a blur...

I had fun in the wildlife garden after lunch today: I was playing with the macro capabilities of my father's camera. It is surprisingly good, although I find it very tricky to get the autofocus to lock on to the desired subject...

I took photos of flowers (including teasels and thistles), and insects (including blue bottle flies, hoverflies, and harlequin ladybird larvae and pupae...). Lots to choose from, and I'm not sure whether this was the right choice for blip: I chose it simply because it was the hardest to catch. I had an enjoyable half hour! I'm now really craving a macro lens for my D800... Gawd.

p.s. I think that this is a "long hoverfly", Sphaerophoria scripta.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.