Hanging

Another very hot day here, this mini heatwave coinciding with a visit of a delegation from the people who have been testing our software in the Netherlands. They are a great bunch, hard working but also knowing how to enjoy themselves. We've had to hold on to a sense of humour as it's been stifling in the office this last couple of days. This has been our opportunity to discuss the really fine details of the application and make final decisions on algorithms for the workflow and screen layouts. We pretty much have all the functionality in place but it now needs to be made slicker and more efficient to use. These discussions are always difficult. The client wants the perfect system on day one. We know that isn't possible. My job and desire is to create the very best piece of software I can. My business partner's job and desire it to make sure we deliver on time and make some money out of the project. There is quite a bit of negotiation involved. And diplomacy! It can get rather stressful.

Monday's horrible day wasn't around our visitors but a host of other things that had to be fitted into the day, what seemed like straightforward tasks which all turned out to be troublesome and gave me a lot of grief. It's not easy to work when you're jumping around from one thing to another as I have been continuously for the last few days. I certainly wouldn't want to complain about this glorious weather but I can't say the timing has been ideal.

That said, I took our visitors back to Ilkley on the train last night and we had a meal at the Cow and Calf Hotel, eating outside on the terrace with views across the moor and up the Wharfe Valley as the sun set in a very pretty sky. I felt rather proud to be able to show off my back garden looking at its best. I took a few of the ladies for a short walk to see the rocks and some of the ancient carvings. There were a lot of people just hanging out, scrambling on the rocks, taking in the view, enjoying picnic dinners. My normally deserted moor was positively bustling. It really was the perfect evening to be out. I have to admit that I was looking rather enviously upon the cyclists who were going past as we were having our meal. I'm ready to get back on my bike now after the weekend!

Glad you enjoyed the summer red dress. It was very skimpy! I'm not a great fan of selective colour, but I think on rare occasions it can be justified! Thanks so much for the lovely comments. For the record, knowing that opportunities were going to be strictly limited, I got the camera out to take a shot of the morning shadows on the bridge and this girl just arrived at the perfect moment. I wasn't loitering. Honest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.