Who are you calling ugly?

This is the very beautiful meadow brown butterfly.
Quite a dull name, but such a beautiful, lively little butterfly.

I often laugh at the ugliness of butterflies' faces compared with the beauty of their wings, but I think this face is simply gorgeous.

I've missed butterflies so much. They've been a long time coming back, but the meadow browns were flitting about all over the fields this evening.

My pollinator-friendly plants and flowers in the garden are paying off too and the butterflies are finding us. A few white butterflies too - which might be why my cauliflowers are getting munched, but I planted enough to share, and I'd rather lose a couple of cauliflowers than lose butterflies.

Richard went to Cornwall to buy choose stock for next summer (YES. I KNOW)
So we all woke up really early and Tess was ready for school an hour early and very confused.

After dropping Tess at school, I got stuck into some gardening and got quite badly sunburnt on my back. Joel got up at midday - which was handy because the dog needed walking and I was suffering from heat exhaustion.

I'm very tired now and looking forward to my bed. We're watching 24 Hours in A&E first, and, as usual, I am completely in awe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.