dead fly

a mixed day. Workwise particularly. We sorted out a load of things and it all seemed to be going quite well but then I received an email from the guy doing the hoarding for Glasgow with an extra 20% of costs. I rang and asked what that was all about.

The specification's changed he said.
Well it hasn't I said, and Network Rail being what they are I sent that to you in November.
I've got no memory of that he said.
But we also had a conversation about it and checked what you had and hadn't allowed for.
I can only tell you I allowed for what is written in our quote.
But that's why we had the telephone conversation, I wanted to check you'd allowed for the other things that weren't mentioned
Honest to God I can't remember getting the quote or having a conversation (laughing) I've allowed for exactly what I wrote in our quote that's all I can go by
But you aren't doing that. You don't say in your quote about how you're fixing the panels on but now you're saying there isn't any allowance for screwing them on, you've only allowed to nail them on.

There was quite a bit more of the same, all going nowhere and me getting more and more annoyed and him laughing in a condescending way

In the end I sent him the emails he has no memory of, sent him a summary of what we need and have to accept that we're going to pay what he wants. No wonder I'm being treated for high blood pressure! We'll never going to use him again after this though and over the last year or eighteen months we've bought £20K's worth of joinery of which about £15K will have been labour and profit so who's the loser?

If we'd been able to wait a week for the hoarding I'd have just gone somewhere else

But on the positive side I went to the Centre and chatted to some friends and had a beer.

It's important to focus on the positive I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.