Brendie

By Brendie

Canal bank crane?

If you follow my blip journal you will recognise that I am back at the canal basin in Port Dundas, Glasgow. My workmates regularly walk along here at lunchtime.

For the past few weeks this structure has intrigued us. I had originally thought it may have been part of a lock that was long gone. However the opposite bank shows no sign of a lock. One of my friends is convinced it is the remnants of a little quay-side crane that would hage been used to haul material from the barges that used the canal in times gone by. I think this sounds like a plausible explanation.

Old industrial Glasgow is just wonderful - if I was a teacher of history I'd have the kids down at this canal and bring the past to life for them.

Best viewed in 'L'arge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.