My first cricket match

Steve and I went to day 2 of the first Ashes Test at Trent Bridge. Over the years I have heard most of the terms and became aware of names of players while still knowing next to nothing about the game.

Learning about it on a beautiful sunny day was great fun. I do love the way that they break for lunch and also for tea in the middle of an international match, and now I have a better idea of what is going on during the match as well. Steve kept me up-to-date as it happened because the shouts of the crowd usually had me looking confused (but stylish in my hat and sunglasses) and waiting for the replay on the screen.

And there were even records broken but unfortunately in favour of the Australians on their 10th wicket stand and their surprise star Ashton Agar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.