Chemo #5

Another hospital day and I have to say I was filled with anxiety after the last 3 had produced allergic reactions to the chemotherapy drug. Twice we had agreed to slow down the rate of the drip as that seemed to help me tolerate it, and twice some unwitting nurse had turned it back up, to speed things up for me. It is indeed tedious sitting there attached to a drip which makes me want to pee all the time. Getting to the bathroom is quite an art when attached to a drip, having to manage a tiny space not to mention clothes that get in the way! I have books, crosswords, TV but a whole day pretty stationary is not me at all. Still, I would rather sit an extra 3 hours (usual time is 45 minutes for the actual drug) than go through that frightening experience again.

However, the good news is that this time I had it written Large on my notes that the drip must not be turned up, and I also made sure the screen was pointing in my direction so I could monitor it myself. And it worked! NO ADVERSE REACTION. Yay for going slow!

Not only that, I came home feeling as good as when I went in. Pretty much a first. During the evening there were no shakes and wobbles. If it lasts tomorrow that will be brill too. It has been known for me to walk with a stick for safety and confidence at this point. Far cry from 6 weeks ago when the oncologist told me I might have to stop this kind of chemo and start all over again with another drug. That was depressing not to say worrying. I am over the moon and full of hope that Chemo #6 is on the horizon, 3 weeks away, and I now have hopes of tolerating that too.

We have been passing this stone on the side of the B2149 in Rowlands Castle for over 2 years now, and finally stopped to blip it. It's not photogenic especially in late sunshine, but worth knowing its story.

This is the King's Stone, erected in 1946. It reads -
"Here HM King George VI reviewed and bade God Speed to his troops about to embark for the invasion and liberation of Europe. Deo Gratias"

The thing that moves me about this is not King George or his kind wishes, but the men who were leaving their homes, families and everything they held dear to fight in unknown arenas. They might have done so willingly, they might not. They might have understood the price being demanded of them, they might not. Who could possibly imagine the death, horror and destruction? The mind shies away.

For me, the stone marks not the King's Spot but the Men's Spot as they mustered in the woods then covering this area, so that Europe could be free from tyranny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.