Prt Sc

By weaponstar

Fluffy Moths!

Beautiful, beautiful creatures! I'm sorry I didn't get a better photo. I was struggling with the strong light and trying not to get the motorway in the background.

I'd never seen these before in life and have since identified them as yellow-tail moths. The yellow tail can't be seen when their wings are closed.

Females are significantly larger than males and males have a black/brown mark on their wing... so I'm thinking these two might be a pair. Cute.

They fly at night.


My camera is currently away having its screen replaced. I'm lucky enough to have the loan of Mum's, which is a Lumix G1, so a relation of my own. I'm still using my f/1.7 lens, so I doubt my blips are going to display any noticeable differences to usual.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.