r a n d o m l a k e

By gddrew

Semaphore

Driving along after having photographed the Russian Orthodox Church I encountered this whimsical site of a functioning traffic light by what appeared to be a horse barn. So I stopped, got out of my car and walked up the driveway. To my surprise, as I approached the building to look for the owner, the light changed from green to red! Unfortunately there was not anyone at home and, being a respecter of private property rights, I opted to come back another day rather than snap photos at will.

Today I went by and luckily the owner was home. A retired electrician with a very friendly kitty cat named Sparky, he was kind enough to let me snap a couple of shots. When asked how he came about acquiring this he said that a friend of his (in public works, I assume) told him that there were a couple available that they were letting go for UDS 50 for the pair, so he bought them. This one on the outside stays green until someone approaches, at which point the light turns red. The one inside of his office also turns red and causes a bell to ring, which lets him know that someone is coming. He also said that when the pizza delivery guy comes he stops the car at the light and walks the rest of the way to the house! :D

One of the fun things about photography, besides the craft itself, is you get to meet various interesting people. There's a guy in my neighborhood with an old telephone booth at the corner of his house. I think I'll adventure down and find out if he used to work for the phone company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.