SMaxwell

By SMax

Slug smoothie

Today marks the true end of our daughter's childhood. I mentioned the possibility of taking down the swing and trampoline and she agreed without a second thought. Up till now anytime I mentioned removing them from the garden she looked at me as if I had suggested murdering her granny.

So this evening I have managed to demolish half the swing and some of the trampoline although it is a slow job as everything is seized tight with rust.

When I built the trampoline I put some spare slabs on top of the supporting poles running round the bottom to give it additional stability and when I lifted a few of them this evening I discovered a treasure trove of spiders, slugs, snails, beetles, slaters and even the skeleton of a mouse.

Most of them scattered, so I couldn't photograph them, but the slaters hung around in a group and I took some shots of them. However as I was doing this one of the slaters broke away from the group and headed over to a slug, which I am assuming was dead as it proceeded to start eating it.

Eating may not be the correct term as it seemed to have something in its mouth which it stuck into the slug and it looked like it was sucking the slug through a straw. A slug smoothie perhaps?

This blip may not be to everyone's taste, but I found it fascinating to see this small world in all its gory glory. If you agree then look at it large for all the gruesome detail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.