Back and Forth thru time

By pingufivemins

Anyway, Anyhow, Anwhere

Evening all.

There is a little bit in one of the Sherlock Holmes stories where Holmes compares his memory to a' lumber room' i think, capable of storing only a certain amount of facts, and so the trivial and mundane he chooses to ignore so he can retain the useful stuff, and he berates Watson severely, when Watson gives Holmes some trivial nonsense which pushes a useful fact out of his head.

I like that idea, and i try to live by it, although it often appears to be in reverse with me, the trivia sticks in, but the pertinent slips away. Thus, i can remember the utterly useless facts about the man who did the voice over for a certain advert being a character in a cbbc drama, which my daughter shared with me this evening.

However, it has rolled a piece of lumber out of my mental store, specifically the bit which tells me wht i need to know about this blip. I can remember that it is a very rare example of a medieval infirmary, i can remember it is in the Sawston area of Cambridge....

other than that, i got nothing......yep, thats really all i've got, think i'll go to bed now!

night all


the Who

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.