Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Sugar cane sellers....

This morning had to go to Ekwendeni to empty my car! It was full of things we need for the workshop I am leading next week. In my job I run a programme of Early Childhood across the northern region of Malawi and I have 28 volunteers who work in different districts to monitor ECD centres and train caregivers and committees. Next week we have a workshop to evaluate what we have been doing and also to do some teaching on early childhood to broaden their education! I am looking forward to seeing them all!

After I dropped the stuff off I was coming to the end of one of the roads when I found these kids selling sugar cane - they had propped it against the signpost so that you couldn't read it! The sugar cane was selling for K30, K50 or K100. To give you an idea of that in real currency K100 is 20 pence or 30 cents!

The kids were very happy to have their photo taken especially when I showed it to them! Mind you when you see the expressions here you wouldn't really think so!

Thanks for the hearts and stars for my twins yesterday - we had a brief spell in the spotlight!! Hope you all have a great weekend :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.