GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

A feast of music

My beautiful friend, Jack O'Rourke, is a talented singer, songwriter, and pianist. I didn't realise that he plays every Thursday and Sunday in the Bodega.

What a joy to have the chance to have an ice cold drink and listen to his unusual interpretations of well-known songs. The most surprising inclusion on the set list for me was 'Ready or Not' by the 'Fugees.

I have sung with Jack in the past so I was really chuffed when he invited me up to sing. We haven't rehearsed together so it was off the cuff, but he is talented enough to wing it. I sang two of my favourites, 'God Bless The Child' and 'You Don't Know Me'. I have missed singing so much!

After Jack finished, we wandered over to the Bowery rooftop to hear a gorgeous singer-songwriter named Elly O'Keeffe. She played piano and accompanied by a friend of mine, Aisling Fitzpatrick, on cello.

Finally, we headed to the Oliver Plunkett where some if my friends were playing in the Midnight Rambles. This is a unique set-up, where the musicians are in a circle on couches in the middle of the room and the punters are all around them. It felt like a real session and I enjoyed having a good dance.

So, three amazing gigs in one night, all completely free of charge. Where would you get it?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.