memento

By memento

The conclusion of a treasure hunt

Personally, I don't collect things...except maybe textiles and fabrics but that doesn't count, does it? I admire people who are dedicated to collecting things especially if they combine it with studying and having knowledge of their collectibles.

I discovered during our SA visit earlier this year that a cousin of mine, only sixteen years old, has a keen interested in and knowledge of the currency of the world and has put together an incredible collection. Her enthusiasm and artful mounting of coins and notes in albums impressed me a great deal. She quizzed me about a US quarter in her possession that had a different design and the name of South Carolina stamped on it.

A quick Internet search explained the United States Mint 50 states commemorative coin program: starting in 1999, they minted five state coins every year, concluding the program last year. You can order the entire, uncirculated, shiny set online, in a fancy sleeve, for about one dollar and fifty cents a quarter.

Seeing that we don't appreciate being ripped off, Mr. F and I have carefully searched any pocket change that have come into the house since we returned from the trip. Mr. F even bought fifty dollars worth of quarters from the bank, searched through it and re-deposited the rest. Today, he handed me a small envelope with coins, the last few to complete the set....seems that he simply ordered them from Ebay.

That's very sweet but what's the matter...did you get tired of looking, honey? I was rather enjoying the trill of the hunt. Thanks though...now I get to shine these pretty things up and send them off.

humongous

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.