Jon Storey

By jonstorey

Goodbye.......

I was first introduced to Blipfoto by a fellow Blipper some five years ago when I developed chronic health problems. "Something to keep you busy Dear!"

I loved it! The concept is brilliant. For the first year or so I tried to post as often as possible and was rewarded with a gratifying 25,000 views. Modest by many others achievements but each and every one was truly appreciated.

Then came the "Sleepyduck et-al" controversy and I decided to take something of a back seat to follow a few favourites and see how the site developed. Predictably the huge commercial potential of Blipfoto became apparent and the site owners understandably decided to make the most of this. Sadly, along with this came an increasingly frequent stance of "This is what is going to happen from now on, end of!" Recent imposed changes in terms and public access to the site, including the perceived potential to "harvest" contact details of visitors (which would have a marked increase in the market value of the Company) have again caused rifts and discontent within the membership.

Most of the members, particularly the older members, feel a sense of "ownership" of the site and the development of Blipfoto has been a very personal experience for them and some feel let down by the developments.

I personally do not like the way the site has developed in the last few years and very sadly have decided to make this my last post.

I wish all the members continued joy with Blipfoto, as I have said, the original concept was brilliant and has given, and will continue to give a huge amount of pleasure and satisfaction to the majority of contributors.

To the owners of Blipfoto I wish continued success and best wishes for the future, but remember who those who created the success, the members and contributors, and the many visitors.

Goodbye, and thanks all!


Footnote, I have just learnt of the untimely passing of Chaiselongue, one of my favourites, she will be much missed by many.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.