paperTIGER

By papertiger

Together.

When my daughter was about seven years old, she asked me one day what I did at work. I told her I worked at the college - that my job was to teach people how to draw. She stared back at me, incredulous, and said, ''You mean they forget?''

-- Howard Ikemoto


Another Monday and a new week of three Summer Schools. This week there are two groups of 3-5's and one group of 5-7's and by Friday each group will have a short performance to share with their mums and dads. That's really not much time as I only get about an hour with each group per day. Yikes!

One of the things we did today was read the storybooks that we'll be exploring over the week. Then, following lots of games and chats, one of the things I like to do, particularly with younger groups, is to draw bits from the story. We do this on a massive roll of paper with space enough for everyone to get round, do their own drawings but to also be working together to make this bigger 'collection' of drawings. It also helps the children feel settled and make friends.

This photo was taken in one of the 3-5's groups as they drew boys and penguins and boats and more besides. Great fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.