The big afternoon tea

The celebrations are over. We've had an afternoon of eating and drinking tea and coffee, laughing and honouring Mum. My brother, Stephen and sister, Jennie and I spoke of our memories and love for Mum. (Thank you for your kind comments on her birthday). It was very moving and we all appreciate her greatly.

Remarkably most of the baking we've eaten today was baked by Mum. I felt concerned when I heard a few weeks ago she was baking a couple of things every week towards her afternoon. But I realised it makes her happy and is her gift to us. I think there were 54 family and friends there so that's a lot of baking (sandwiches, savouries and a couple of cakes were made by others).

I enjoyed seeing my nephews and nieces again and meeting my first great nephew for the first time. It was quite emotional seeing my nephew Gareth as a Dad and the first of the next generation. Little Levi is 5 months old and had four generations present on both sides of his family.

It was also good to see some of Mum and Dad's friends. Some have known me since I was born and are special people.

We displayed some of Mum's art work, old family photos, dolls she's knitted for grandchildren and her famous knitted covered coat hangers that protect clothes like nothing else. A DVD showed a continuous slide show of photos of Mum from baby to now.

It's been a long day, in fact a big few days. I'm tired and sore but doing ok.

Today's blip features Ruby, daughter of my youngest (and very cool) cousin Alison/Ali/Sal about to pick up a piece of Mum's baking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.