NoveltyBobble

By NoveltyBobble

House of False Hope

There's not much left of culture in my town, it's mining and steel production history has quickly been decimated this century with the previous generations dying off and extensive rebuilding.

I could have hopped into the car to travel somewhere, but I've just been lazy and walked down to what used to be the church for the community.

This is one of the few surviving buildings that are of any age having been built in the late 19th century. As a hub of the community for so long, it's now been relegated to storage. As happy as I am to see religion falling out of popularity - I do feel it's a sad undeserved end to a building that has meant so much to so many over the last 120 years.

If it hadn't become a listed building then no doubt it would have been levelled by now and replaced with a shop. The culture of consumerism has hit this town hard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.