Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The music course

Gavin and I had a lovely run this morning with Murdoch, although it was rather hot. Lovely for me, not so good for him who as a marathon runner has to really s-l-o-w down his pace so I can keep up!

Then a big breakfast was cooked for the boys (which included Adam's friend who had slept over). I am delighted to report that the entire breakfast was cooked by Adam...result! Finally, they are learning to cook. I only helped with a little of the tidying up.

Some last minute packing and then Gavin and I drove Thomas over to his National Prep Schools Orchestra music course which was being held at Wellington College in Berkshire (an arch rival in sport for the older boys' school). This image is of some of the children arriving to register and settle in for the week. As you can see it is a beautiful looking school, though one of the 'newer' public schools, being opened as recently as 1859!

Gavin was quite ready to sign him in and go, but I insisted on staying until they were taken to their rooms. I could see that Thomas was feeling a little wobbly about being away from home for a full week, and not knowing anyone on the course. Gavin thought I was being too soft, but I suppose that is the difference between mums and dads. I will miss him terribly and as it is not too far from home even offered to pop in to see him this week if necessary (Gavin does not know about that!). We collect him next Saturday after seeing their concert, which I am already looking forward to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.