Ikol

By Ikol

Wet

Well all the cool kids were doing it ....

I like the idea of getting into photography a bit, in order to nurture my more creative side, and I'm continually impressed by the brilliant photos I see from several of my friends who are also members here. A word to this wise, however: knowing how I am about such things, I will likely post a few pictures on here, get bored, and then stop. At best, updates will be sporadic and entirely dependent upon both whether or not I see anything I feel like taking a picture of, and whether or not I actually remember to take a picture of said thing. I'll do my best to keep at this so I can get better at it, but despite the best of intentions, I'm awfully fickle about this kind of thing. So we'll see where this goes.

This is a piece of our fence. Today it rained and I was inspired to see if there was anything to take a picture of; I took a bunch and this was the best. I also decided to try putting it through a few filters for the hell of it; the initial goal with this image was to bring out the darkness and wetness of the wood -- I really wanted to emphasize the color in the rain. In the end I failed rather spectacularly (the colors look totally artificial to me by this point) but hey, I'm sure I'll get better at this the more I do it. There are a few other versions of this image that I may or may not post at some point.

Incidentally, my camera is my phone, a Samsung Galaxy S4, and the filters come from an app called Aviary. It'll do for my purposes, I think, but it does mean all my pictures are going to be gigantic until I figure out a way to resize them and retain quality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.