Nicktor's news

By Nicktor

Son Number One

Often in the shadow of his brother on the cricket pitch, but today did brilliantly, and was easily the pick of the Liphook U15 bowlers, taking 3 wickets for 14 runs in his spell.

Unfortunately we were playing Guildford who are probably the polar opposite of Liphook. We are very much a village team, trying to be very inclusive, whereas Guildford seem quite elitist and have a different view of success to us!

We lost by 40 runs, but at one stage Dan and James B were looking as if they might get us closer. But unfortunately James got out, and Dan had to retire. Although he came back in towards the end of the game, only Aidan had put up any resistance.

Very enjoyable game though, and well done Boys.

Quick change of direction led us to Ripsley Park for a friendly match between the 3rd team and a number of the 1st and 2nd XIs. I fielded well and was second highest scorer with 23 which was quite pleasing. However now I am paying the price of not getting my hands to the ball quickly enough when I was fielding, and being hit on the side of my foot. Hopefully it's just bruised and not anything worse - although I've just heard that my friend Stuart's lad is currently in A&E with a double fractured leg following an incident in Judo this afternoon. Sounds horrible, and our thoughts are with you Joe.

Ice pack and whisky for me and just hope I can move my foot in the morning!

Final thought for the day goes to the England cricket team. Try not to leave it quite so late next time?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.