Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Falcon v Gull

Unfortunately I couldn't see anything in the viewfinder because of the sun, so I couldn't zoom in on my subject. Rather, I had to point in the general direction, click and hope for the best.

Just visible in the lower centre is a falcon homing in on a gull.

View large.

The falcon had come to my attention a few minutes earlier when the tables had been turned, and a larger gull had dropped in on the falcon from above and behind.

I watched for several minutes as the lone falcon played cat and mouse with the gulls. Although it appeared smaller than the gulls, I got the feeling that it probably had the upper hand. Apparently Falcon v Gull is not uncommon, and although I'm not certain I have a feeling that some falcons may have been introduced deliberately by the council to help to control the number of gulls in the city as they have been in Barcelona.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.