EastTexasAngles

By EastTexasAngles

Out of Kilter

There are so many branches and sticks and tree trunks strewn all over Llano Grande since the thinning we did at the beginning of the year. I find myself fascinated with the unusual, even unique patterns they make. I could probably do a year's Journal just on the theme of abstract designs in the branches of trees, bushes and shrubs.

This is one of them. I didn't have time to spend blipping today because my mother is sick and needed me to be with her. She has Shingles and while it is very painful it is not life-threatening. Except that she has an especially severe case, and has had a bad reaction to several different kinds of pain medication. And oh, yes, she happens to be 94,

Ordinarily, you'd never believe that as she is extraordinarily active and healthy physically and mentally. This has really taken a toll, however, and today was worse than usual. She was all hunched up and shivering through her whole body and had a very sick stomach.

It was an overcast day and finally rained a few drops around 7 pm. Mom sent me into town to get her an enema and I took this photo and several others like it on my way. Some of the others are better -- even more dramatic -- but on this one I tilted the camera deliberately to get a different angle -- and it fits how this day was -- all messed up and out of kilter -- the way I am feeling at the moment with my mother up one day and feeling so good I start to think the worst is over and then -- whammo -- she's sick and miserable and scared -- and so am I.

I got her bundled up and warm and got some liquids and hot food into her, and she stopped shaking and finally felt reasonably okay. Even a little of her spunk and independence came back. We'll see what tomorrow brings. I hope it's a better day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.