When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

they blew up the Chicken Man in Philly last night

So before I had even found my bearings, it was time to say goodbye to Brooklyn and move on to Philadelphia. We stopped for coffee in China Town before the ladies split off to travel with their Team Mates. Their schedule for the next few days was pure derby Mayhem, so I was taking a time out to see some of Philadelphia on my own.

I had the pleasure of six-year-old Alisa's company on the mega-bus. She had been at a fashion show. Tyron her cousin wouldn't quite being a monkey she informed me. Also, she decided without out meeting her that myself and M.Riot should get married as we were perfect for each other. On arrival in Phili, she said if I asked her Auntie maybe I could come to Chucky Cheese's with them next time they go. I said I didn't know what that was. She smiled and assured me it was the best thing ever.

I had a spare room in a couples house booked in Brewery Town, which was a bus ride out-of-town. When I arrived they hadn't got home from work yet. So I sat on their "stoop" for a while and fielded questions from curious children. From their reactions to me, it was clearly not everyday a brilliant white human milk bottle appeared in their midst. My sunblock was particularly hilarious as it turns out.

Aaron arrived back from work and let me in. I sheltered with their awesome A.C for a while, before showering and getting a bus back into the town center. It was about six in the evening by this point. Just as I was about to alight, a big storm broke over head and a serious downpour commenced. I jumped off the bus and dashed for cover beside a giant clothes-peg statue.

When it dried up, I wandered the town center until I found the Locust Bar on Locust Street. They had a Neon Philadelphia Flyers sign in their window, so I decided this was the place for a drink. Right choice as it turns out. The barman was called Paulie and reminded me of something from the Sopranos. It was dark, with three large TV screens covering the baseball. Somehow they had also staved off the anti-smoking brigade and the majority of the patrons sat at the bar wreathed in smoke staring up at the TV screens. I sunk a couple of Sierra Nevada and joined them for a while.

On the same street I found Cheu noodle bar. Their Beef Brisket and matzoh ball soup noodle sounded to good to pass up. So I didn't. Very glad I stopped. Also had a lovely beer, Six Point Apollo Wheat. Highly recommended.

[Pic: Steam rises from beneath the pavement outside one of the many Irish bars in Philadelphia]
Alt blip 1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.