From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

My Stony Road / Poor Teddy

He looks happy enough, doesn't he? Smiling inanely while the sun is shining and he has leaves trying to get up his nose. Still, at least he isn't lying on the towpath trodden into all the stones and twigs.

I didn't see him on the way up the canal. I was lost in my own thoughts having a second lovely chat of the day without the usual levity. It was wonderful and a comfort though. I forgot myself in that roasting sushine which pierced through the leaves of the trees. At least I was wearing my new hat which I'd bought when out with Nuzhat at lunchtime. It's very floppy and keeps the sun off my red centre parting I got when waiting for the train to pass by yesterday.

I forgot myself so much so that I had walked all the way to St Andrew's (the Birmingham City Football Club) and rather than go up onto the road to catch a bus home, I walked all the way back. I'd probably done about 12 miles by the time I got home after a long day in the heat.

I hope I sleep tonight. I spotted Teddy on the way back and stopped my conversation for a few seconds to take his photo.

Track? Chris Rea today - Stony Road

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.