Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Lazy days of summer

Today was a lazy day, but each part of it was inspired by blip. This lazy picture is of the streetcar that rattle-whiz-bangs past my apartment every fifteen to twenty minutes from 6 a.m. till midnight. I love the way its sound punctuates my life.

I spent the morning indulging myself in the short stories of Haruki Murakami, suggested by a blip friend. Murakami presents exquisitely-detailed stories of lives in which very little happens, so mundane details throb with intensity. I find his work similar to that of Sylvia Townsend Warner, which is to say I love it.

Last week Katherine Ellis blipped an elaborate cake, which made me lust for a piece of cake myself, so this afternoon I met Laurie, and we bought some cupcakes and ate them in her garden.

Then this evening I came home and checked blip and found my absolute favorite blip EVER before returning to Murakami. Ease, luxury, indulgence, pleasure. Ahhhh. A nice break from the emotions of the past couple of weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.