Z for a Zimmer - help for a gardening friend

So that's the end of my alphabet challenge - phew! This reminds me of the time in Nepal when I had a child's zimmer for a little boy with cerebral palsy strapped to my backpack as I waited for a bus. People kept on coming up to see whether I was capable of trekking! We made them out of bamboo as the child grew. Out in the mountains at that time there was little physiotherapy available. In the huts where sleeping and sitting on the ground was the norm there was nothing around for a child to pull himself up with and use as support to walk with or around.

In the cool of the morning I picked gooseberries, strawberries and red currants, dug a few new potatoes and cut some baby globe artichokes for supper - yummy. After all the hard work it is great to reap some rewards - last year the slugs had most things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.