BJH

By BJH

Another successful release

It's been so warm again that I didn't spend any time at the park other than to walk one of the dogs from the sanctuary. Poor Kahn looked as hot as I felt even though we walked very slowly and stayed in the shade as much as possible.

Today's blip is a moth that I successfully released this afternoon. It was a caterpillar that had just finished attaching two sides of a leaf together when I found it at the park picking dandelion leaves for Rosie some time ago. I'd put this piece of the leaf in an insect pot, checked on it every day and this morning this lovely moth had emerged from it. Before my walk with Kahn I released it at the park in the same area where I'd found it. I tried to take a photo of it sitting on the tree it had landed on but it was not very good so instead I've chosen another shot of it which I took earlier through the side of the insect pot in which it had emerged.

I'm lousy rubbish very bad at identifying anything except for the creatures that everyone knows. After looking through my moths book though, I think that I've been able to identify this moth as a Spindle Ermine.

Thank you for all your lovely comments and stars on yesterday's bunnies blip. As always they are very much appreciated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.