Puffins at Last

These iconic birds are about 10 inches long and I have always wanted to see them! Today was "puffin fest day" for me on May Island off the coast of North Berwick. 45,000 pairs nest there in the summer months. I had so many wonderful shots today I must put some more somewhere but wifi problems are limitimg my possibilities.

Please look large if you have time.
I am a very happy bunny tonight, replete with puffins, terns, razor bills and cormorants.

This is what wiki says: "The Atlantic Puffin is a bird of cold northern seas for most of the year. It spends the autumn and winter in the open ocean, returning to land at the start of the breeding season in late spring. There it nests in clifftop colonies, digging a burrow in which a single egg is laid. The chick is mostly fed on whole fish and grows rapidly. After about six weeks it is fully fledged and makes its way at night to the sea. It paddles away from the shore and does not return to land for several years. Both adults and immature birds feed mainly on small fish which they catch while diving underwater, using their wings for propulsion."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.