Yew

I spent 5 hours - all morning, carving a piece of yew. I spent ages putting a razor edge on my draw knife, then carved a square sawn piece of yew into a handle for my new spoon carving tool, following the grain, creating a beautiful organic s shaped handle. I made a ferrule of copper pipe, glued it in place, then drilled a hole for the tongue of the blade, and carefully tapped the handle onto the blade. One last tap... and it split :-( so, up to the wood yard for another bit of yew - not nearly as interesting as the first, and I carved with less love 2nd time round, but it functions. So not much opportunity to take photos today, except in the yard, where this characterful piece of wood was standing on a saw. There is a whole story in there somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.