Hum, what do you think?

By photonovice

Baby Bunnies

While stacking wood, I heard what I thought sounded like a dog toy in the grass. Peeking out of the wood shed to see what the dogs were up to, I heard it again, and saw two distinct patches of grass wagging it's tail. I walked through the tall grass to see what the girls were playing with and discovered that they had a baby bunny and were playing with it. Sadly, it died in my hands seconds after I picked it up.

So, after disposing of the poor thing, washing my hands and returning to work in the shed, I hear another squeak. Darn dogs! After a search of the grass, I found another dying bunny and three live ones huddled together in the deep grass. The next day, I found another one dead in the grass.

After disposing of another poor bunny and washing my hands, I found the old hamster cage in storage. I should have put them back, but I didn't want to run the risk of letting the dogs get them.

We learned a lot about wild bunnies, their habits, nutrition and neonatal care of babies over the course of the next few days. One bunny died the first night, and these two lived almost 4 days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.