Big Hill

By bighill

At the Market.

We had a change of venue for the Baddeck market today, and were moved down to the wharf, in front of the Yacht Club. The scene was so beautiful, small boats bobbing about on the water, people wandering and enjoying the bright, hot sunny day!

I found myself having to have an attitude alteration! Being tired, and having to set up my tables outside is always a bit of a challenge. As other vendors around me were waxing lyrical about how lucky we were, how wonderful it was....i was grumping away, as i struggled to stop all the newspaper from flying all over the place. My stress levels were climbing! People (ie customers!) were milling...and looking....and disturbing me!!! What a nerve they had....they were even asking questions and some even had intentions of buying! And what was my attitude.....under my breath i was telling them all to buzz off ! I'm not usually a grumpy person, except under duress! Luckily i caught myself - after the first person bought one of my lovely large oval platters - $65 - and it wasn't even 11 am, opening time! I had a good chat with myself, and accepted that it might take me 15 minutes longer to get things sorted out on the table and priced etc....but so what! There i was, looking at this lovely environment, surrounded by such lovely and wonderful folks....so i started enjoying it! I could think of so many really awful alternative! I had the best sales day of the season so far! Mind you, i usually start selling more at around this time, and i have had really good days whilst still feeling a bit hot and grumpy....but hey, it was so much more pleasant!

When i got home i headed for my room and a read and a wee nap! 2 1/2 hours later, after what felt like the sleep of the dead...i emerged feeling totally renewed, and happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.